Saturday, November 5, 2011

Nobel Prize 2011 Winners


2011 Nobel Prize

In Physics  for the discovery of the accelerating expansion of the Universe through observations of distant supernova with one half to Saul Perlmutter and the other half jointly to Brian P. Schmidt and Adam G. Riess.
In Chemistry it is awarded to Dan Shechtman for the discovery of quasicrystals.
In Physiology or Medicine, one half jointly to Bruce A. Beutler and Jules A. Hoffmann for their discoveries concerning the activation of innate immunity and the other half to Ralph M. Steinman  for his discovery of the dendritic cell and its role in adaptive immunity.
In Literature it is awarded to Tomas Transtromer because, through his condensed, translucent images, he gives us fresh access to reality.
The 2011 Nobel Peace Prize is awarded jointly to Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkol Karman for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work.
In Economic Sciences it is awarded jointly to Thomas J. Sargent and Christopher A. Sims for their empirical research on cause and effect in the macro-economy

No comments:

Post a Comment